top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Yu

Neon Signs and Whiskey Glasses


Eastern Tennessee’s favorite country singer… Morgan Wallen. In the past few years, Wallen’s rise to success has been evident. He has been breaking the boundaries of country music, pulling in even the most stubborn of music listeners.


However, I will note that with the recent scandal, his name is a bit controversial. Regardless, I will review his music without further reference to this. However if you are curious, his name on a google search will give you all the information you need. But for now… let’s talk music.


On January 8, 2021, Morgan Wallen released his second studio album Dangerous: The Double Album. Praised by music critics, and quickly taking the country world by storm, his fans have voiced how much they love this album. I only found it fitting that I check it out for myself. I’ve been a lover of Morgan Wallen since 2019, falling deeply in love with his If I Know Me album. I found it almost impossible for the songs on this album to top his hits from 2018 (If I Know Me).


However, before we get into which album I liked more and my general opinion on the album, I’ll show you some of my favorite songs.


5. “Somebody’s Problem”

  • Morgan Wallen talks about meeting a girl who is alone at a party, either having just come out of a relationship or seen as a problem by others. He claims that he would treat her better and not view her as any type of problem, showing how foolish others were before him. Her “problems” are not important to him.

4. “Wasted On You”

  • Morgan offers a variety of songs in this album, from falling in love to angering heartbreak. This is angering heartbreak. In a deeply emotional song, he describes how it feels to pour time and effort into a relationship and not have it work out. As many feel after a breakup, the time and energy “wasted” cause immense tension in a person’s mental state. Wallen’s song, on top of meaningful lyrics, has an amazing beat to accompany it.


3. “Sand In My Boots”

  • Another sad breakup song on the list. His meeting with a girl over summer turns out only to be a faint memory as he returns home. In this song he expresses his feelings of loss and hopelessness. It’s a situation where many can understand. Whether it be “right person, wrong time” or simply a missed opportunity, regret is the worst feeling yet.


2. “865”

  • The stage between breakup and love, that irking feeling of not being able to truly move on. Wallen discusses not being able to restrain from calling a number no matter how hard he tries. There’s something about feeling so strongly about someone to the point where their number is constantly on speed dial.


1. “Warning”

  • Personally, I am very big on the whole “I’m over it” breakup song. Wallen gives us a catchy beat, clever lyrics, and powerful emotions. From the second I listened to this song I could not get it out of my head. From neon signs to whiskey glasses, it almost feels like a combination of his previous themes and ideas. Contrary to popular opinions, this is simply my favorite song on the album.


Favorite lyrics: “That neon sign/ Hanging outside that bar/ Should've said "Go home/ If you know what's good for your heart” (Wallen).


As Knoxville, TN is my actual hometown, Morgan Wallen’s music speaks to me more than others. But… did I enjoy this album more than If I Know Me? Honestly… no. But is this still one of the BEST country albums I’ve ever heard? Yes. An emotional roller-coaster that will take anyone on a ride, I recommend you give it a listen.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page