top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Yu

More than just accents, alcohol, and God?

Whenever I say I like country, I'm greeted with disgusted scowls and furrowed eyebrows. Not to say this isn't expected, after all, I used to do the same. A genre of music that has been at the end of constant ridicule and bias. Why? Maybe it's the overused themes, heavy accents, and stereotyped music. No, that's just called prejudice. I'm here to break down why you should give country a try, and give you some starting hits.


 

1. You can't hate what you haven't tried. I know that country is stereotyped to be full of heavy country accents and include the same themes of heartbreak, booze, and Jesus. Of course there is country out there exactly like the version you envision. However, there's another side you haven't opened yourself to. Before 2018, my music taste depended on the radio station my mother played in her car. I only listened to one genre... pop. It was not until I was exposed (or rather forced to listen) to my friend’s country, that I realized it wasn’t nearly as bad as everyone made it out to be. All it takes is one good song.


2. There are different "types" of country.

There are multiple sub-genres under country. These are of my own speculation and preference. There is obvious country pop, where many first time country listeners find themselves. Country-rap follows closely behind in popularity. I'm sure you've found yourself singing along to these songs and artists without a thought of it being country.

  1. Artists: Dan and Shay, Carrie Underwood, Taylor Swift, Florida Georgia Line

  2. Songs: “Old Town Road,” "Heartless,” "One Thing Right,” “Meant to Be,” “Tequila,” “Speechless,” “Before He Cheats,” “10,000 Hours”


I consider the middle barrier to be integrating artists. These are artists I consider to fall right between country pop and “country-country”. This is where most of my music taste falls under. I hesitantly state that I can be stubborn in my taste of country. Below are artists I personally associate and love within this area.

  1. Artists: Morgan Wallen, Jordan Davis, Chris Lane, Kane Brown, Thomas Rhett, Maren Morris, Gabby Barrett

  2. Songs: “Whiskey Glasses,” “Chasin You,” “I Don’t Know About You,” “Look What God Gave Her,” “Like a Rodeo,” “I Hope,” “The Bones,” “Church in a Chevy”


Another is your “country-county." With this, I expose myself; I am NOT a “real” country listener. However, this relates me more to those who are new and wanting to dip their toes into the genre. Artists here have more “traditional” country music, being further along the spectrum. However, keep in mind each song or album can vary greatly in theme or genre!

  1. Artists: Blake Shelton, Dustin Lynch, Luke Combs, Jason Aldean, and Miranda Lambert.

  2. Songs: “Knockin’ Boots,” “Body Like a Back Road,” “She Got the Best of Me,” “Night Shift,” “Love Ain’t”


3. Comfort your many, complicated feelings. Country fits many moods, and I can say first hand that I've wallowed in sad, cry-worthy tunes or yelled my heart out driving with the windows down. Country does not only fit one feeling. No matter if you're feeling down, inspired, excited, or indifferent, there's something for you here.


Overall, it never hurts to try out new music! For me, finding new artists and songs always brightens my day. Having too many prejudices inhibits your true creativity and knowledge. Life is short, give country a try. Who knows? Maybe it’ll become your new favorite genre.


Linked here is my beloved country playlist: alcohol+jesus



Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page